Selected Poems- Emily Dickinson

Hope is the thing with feathers-
That perches in the soul…🐦

I discovered Emily Dickinson’s poetry while doing a MooC on American Contemporary Poetry, or ModPo as the course is called, conducted by University of Pennsylvania.

Dickinson was a recluse who unearthed universal truths, one poem at a time. I don’t remember much of what I learned during the course, but Dickinson’s poetry stayed with me. Poetry is powerful that way. It’s always present somewhere within you, only if you remember to pay attention to it. Like a flitting multi-hued butterfly. You blink and you miss. And if you pause and look closely, the colors will burst in front of your eyes to be recalled later as Wordsworth had said:

For oft, when on my couch I lie
In vacant or in pensive mood,
They flash upon that inward eye
Which is the bliss of solitude;
And then my heart with pleasure fills…

  As for me, reading poetry gets me out the funk as I said here.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. artiche says:

    I love Emily Dickinson, I’m so glad you wrote this post 🙂 I hope you have also read
    -A Bird Came Down the Walk
    -A Narrow Fellow in the Grass
    -I Felt a Funeral in My Brain
    -“I’m Nobody, Who are You?”
    Funnily, I did sign up for the exact same course, but never got around to doing it. Aah, how I wish I did now. And like Wordsworth said, “Poetry is the spontaneous overflow of powerful emotion recollected in tranquility.”
    Thanks again for writing this!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. kausambhi says:

      Thank you for your kind words again! 🙂 I am not familiar with the three poems except I’m Nobody…This one is a personal favorite. I’m on to exploring the other three now. Thanks for recommendation.
      ModPo was enriching and fun, although I couldn’t finish it. The last time I checked the course is still available on Coursera. It’s open for enrolment now. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. artiche says:

        Thanks for the info!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

